You came to each game
And heard tale upon tale
But you never complained
Never seeing us kids as a jail

You encouraged our madness
Asking us more to create
Letting us fly and letting us fall
Pushing us to make our own fate

Even now at a distance
Your words push me on
Your joy and your pride
Adding wings to my song

Now hearing your smile
As I tell of new dreams
I remember old times
All those childhood schemes

Things I thought certain
That you knew wouldn’t go
But you let me dream on
Allowing excitement to flow

You taught me so much
When you smiled at my falling
You helped me see promise
In the pitfalls find calling

So thank you for listening
For letting me try
Allowing each crazy idea
A chance to hit sky

For where I am now
I just simply wouldn’t be
Except for your joy
In asking me to be me

